PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







who cloned my bolivian mercedes?

2011-01-02 - 3:11 p.m.


all photos � 2011 by elaine radford
chevron amethyst, the first stone i've cabbed in a decade, i wasn't able to do any shaping because we don't have the grinding wheels yet, went from trim saw to 220 grit, yeah, don't do that, but i wanted to "prime" my new cabbing wheels, and they said you have to do it with a large stone so...

I guess I will have good luck all the year long, knock on wood, because I stupidly put on my sweater inside-out. M. pointed it out at breakfast, and I went to change it back, but then I got distracted somehow and forgot. So, yes, I actually wore my sweater inside-out. A mile walk to the streetcar, then on the streetcar, then on the ferry, then a short stroll afterword. And, then, after I'd sipped a frosty champagne or two, I suddenly remembered: I was wearing my shirt inside-out! I went ahead and changed it, but it seems to me that I accidentally wore it much farther than need be to earn the blessings of the inside-out-clothes-wearing gods.

First bird of the New Year was the Blue Jay -- a pair of them flew over to scold us as we strolled out of the house. Second, and hot on the two Jays' heels to add to the fuss, was a small flock of Carolina Chickadees. I didn't know why they were fussing at the time, but maybe they were trying to tell me, Hey, lady, your sweater's on inside-out.

Another odd thing. As we strolled along St. John's Bayou, a red Toyota Corolla station wagon with luggage racks turned down the street. Excepting Bolivia, I haven't seen another Toyota Corolla wagon in years, much less the same color, with the same style of luggage racks. Even though nobody would steal such a thing, I have to admit that I did a double-take to check the license plate to make sure that it wasn't mine.

Much too much eating and drinking at the party, although I did take my 30 minute walk at some point, leading IMOM around the historic Algiers Point neighborhood. He was convinced that we would be lost and circling forever, but I don't think we ever put a foot wrong, and we saw some cute restored houses. We didn't have to stagger back on foot, ferry, and streetcar like real tourists, because M2 gave us a ride back. A few glasses of champagne followed by satsuma vodka shooters was not going to stop her from braving the holiday roadways.

"I got this car for one hundred dollars," she informed us. Token seat belts, but they were broken in back and wouldn't clasp. Reminded me a bit of college days. Didn't think there were any working $100 cars left in the post-Katrina universe. Perhaps she found the very last one.

The partying continued for too many hours at IMOM's house, where we rummaged about until we found some of his old, hidden treasures. He was shocked to see that they were wrapped in old, faded, yellowed newspaper dated Dec. 11, 2000. Too long for a lovely jade carving to remain hidden out of sight! Perhaps in the New Year I will help him set up a display cabinet.

Before we left this morning, I took my walk in his neighborhood, since it's far more atmospheric than ours. And so to home, where I used my new wheels to cut my first cab in a decade -- a chevron amethyst that makes a nice pattern. The grinding wheels haven't come in, and the new sanding/polishing wheels needed to be broken in with a large quartz/agate cab, so it isn't very nicely shaped. But it does have a beautiful polish. I would hope it's the start of something big, although I don't doubt that it will also be a source of amusement 200 cabs further on.

later

Remembered that I had a Wild Horse Picture Jasper already dopped and shaped. Took it to the new set of wheels and, OMG, it's just awesome.


wild horse picture jasper, my second cab, when i remembered that i had a picture jasper all shaped and dopped and ready to go...not bad, eh? an unpolished slab of the same material is in the background

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford