PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

google plus problems - 2019-02-04
flirtatious birbs of the home - 2019-01-27
little redheads - 2019-01-21
eclipse night - 2019-01-20
the hummingbird report jan. 13, 2019 - 2019-01-13


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







of money and moss agate

2011-01-03 - 6:33 p.m.


all photos � 2011 by elaine radford

I've been very, very slowly cleaning and searching and inventorying the house, and it's amazing how many coins I find under the bed, in the laundry room, or tucked into the zipper pockets of old purses in need of refurbishment. The last coin wouldn't even go in the jar. So anyway, I cashed them in, and I had a total of $37.42. Plus a small foreign coin of puzzling origin. I squinted and put on my reading glasses and puzzled and pondered, but I could never figure out what country it was from or even where the name of the country might be inscribed upon it. Maybe the words were worn off. In any case, because of the picture of Queen Elizabeth on one side, I suppose it's almost got to be from some British Commonwealth country. The other side had, I don't know what, some kind of Arabic-looking but not quite Arabic-looking symbols? What the heck is that? Maybe it's from Trinidad? But I don't know why they'd have anything like that on the back of a coin. Anyways, I have tired of the mystery and tossed it into the big box of other foreign coins, before it officially makes me crazy.

Mostly, as I clean and clear, I sell and/or give away stuff. I've been dropping off boxes of stuff I can't sell at the Goodwill that replaced our Yachting store on the corner, thanks to the recession, I suppose. Today, as I dropped off another box, I decided to peek inside. They had used paperbacks, 5 for 99cents, so I went ahead and grabbed five for the airplane. Yay, me.

Since I don't yet have a coarse grinding/shaping wheel, I puttered around and found three more stones that were already shaped but still in need of a polish. You can see them together, with an American quarter, in the picture up top, to give you an idea of the size.

Cab # 3 of the year is green Moss Agate from India. Yeah, I'm aware that India is a big place but what can I say? That's all I know.

Two views, one with light (the sun) shining through it, one without the light. Ultimately, when the moss is THIS thick, the stone might be best cut very, very thin and then used as a doublet or triplet to better isolate the moss and let more light shine through. But you do see it a lot in a classic cabochon cut like this.

Cab #4 is an unknown Agate. Update: I have been informed that it's agatized Araucaria wood ("rainbow wood") from the American southwest. It looks like I started to work it and then put it aside because of the natural healed fracture. I decided to go ahead and finish it up, since I don't think the fracture spoils the pattern. Interesting material. I'd love to know where it came from.

The fifth cab of the year is an Amethyst/Blue Lace from Namibia, Africa. I don't know if I really like the shape much, but I see blue waves in blue water beneath a lavendar sky. I don't think the picture would have showed as well, if I cut it smaller, which is what I would have had to do to get an oval or a round out of it. Amethyst/Blue Lace was a popular metaphysical stone back in the day, and I'm not sure why. I think it was good for serenity, peace, meditation -- the type of thing I'm too restless to meditate about. I'll find the right setting and/or the rest person for this one someday. It should be easier now that it's all bright and shiny!

One idea, is that instead of setting it as jewelry, I'll make a tiny wire-wrap easel for it, to show it as a picture stone. I have the plans telling how to do that...somewhere.

I also did some work with the trim saw today. Of course, I now realize that I should have been trimming up small slabs into roughly cablike shapes and getting them dopped all along. Then I would have a whole string of dopped stones at the ready for the cabbing wheel. But I don't think I lost too much time, since I think DH set up the trim saw the same weekend that he put the new wheels on my Opal Machine. Also, I'm not much on dopping larger stones. But it's a BIG help with smaller stones.

Heh. I think I'm going to quit writing and go inspect some slabs now. Stay tuned.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford