PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







"I'll stick with 15/30 because the higher limit players play so bad they draw out on you all day and you can't make any damn money"

2009-12-09 - 3:36 p.m.

A good day Tuesday. Who let the dogs out? There were some weak players howling at the moon last night. I was never down more than $100 and left with a healthy win after a situation developed where the table was short but the calling station had moved away from me where I could no longer use him to control the lagtards.

Here's a hand from 30/60 LHE where I had two tourists acting immediately after me. I had J8 of clubs on the button. All fold to me and I raise. Both blinds call.

Flop is Q42, all clubs. I has flopped a flush and you don't. Yay me.

Check, check, I bet, call, call. OK, whatev.

Turn is a 6 of maybe hearts. And now all heck breaks loose. SB checks, BB bets (?), and I shake my head because I don't know what hand bets here. A bigger flush? Why not try to check/raise the field? I dunno. I still like my hand, and I raise. The erstwhile sweet and mousy small blind now squeaks up with a three bet straight out of nowhere. That's right, a check/3 bet. Yowsers. Now I'm really scratching my head. What can he have here other than A-rag of clubs for the nuts? Big blind bitterly open folds his two pair, the 64 of diamonds. That's kind of bad sportsmanship, to open fold while there are still two more guys in the pot, but oh well. He couldn't resist showing off his hero fold.

And now it's back to me. I look at the board, and I look at my hand. He could have a smaller flush, I mean, hell, I'm Jack high...but a turn check/3 bet into two opponents? I just don't know. I decide to call down, and we'll shoot it out and see who has the better flush at the end. So I just call.

The river is the A of spades, which changes nothing. He bets, I call.

He shows 53 for a turned straight. I feel like an idiot. Should I have four bet the turn and tried to see just how much action he could give me with his "drawing dead and got there" hand? Or did I play it right, because if I came back over the top, maybe he finally catches a clue and folds right there?

We'll never know.

Here's another 30/60 LHE hand where I probably played pretty horribly. I have two red Kings in the Small Blind. A guy who has been compulsively, nay self-destructively, open-raising about the top 40 % of hands from any position, opens again. All fold to me. I three bet because I'm so far ahead here it isn't even funny. Big Blind cold calls. Laggy guy calls. 9 small bets.

QTx, 2 diamonds.

I bet, BB raises, and the laggy folds. We're heads-up. Now I'm wondering what to do. Could my opponent be on a diamond draw? You might think, what kind of idiot would raise and price out one of his opponents when he's drawing to a flush? My answer would be, a lot of the regular nothing-special 30/60 players at the B, and this guy is one of them. Of course, it's more likely that he has a Q or even a T that he wants to protect. I should just three-bet and pick up some more chips now while I can. But for some reason I decide to just call and then donk the turn.

Turn is the J of diamonds. Hey, I has picked up a diamond draw to a K high flush and an open-ended straight draw. On the down side, if he was drawing to the diamond flush, he just got there. My original plan is completely idiotic and should be abandoned. But maybe I'm best. Hey, I'm probaby best, and if not, look at all of those outs. So I donk, get raised, and, oh &$%*!!!, what's the matter with me? This guy totally has an A high diamond flush. He cold calls two bets in the big blind, blah blah blah. He has some stupid suited connector and my only out is one more diamond. Oh wait. Oh crap. No. He has A-rag of diamonds, and I'm drawing dead. How did I not see that before? There are about fifty million monsters hiding under that damn bed.

The river is the A of spades. I has a straight. But he has a flush. I can only check/call and pray that lightning strikes the table. So I check. He checks. What the blue blazes?

Now I'm sure that everyone reading this in the nice and quiet of their computer has already figured out that the dude has pocket Aces with the A of diamonds. But I never caught a clue. I just stumbled into a win with my rivered straight against his rivered trips. My thought processes during this hand, if they can even be described as thought processes, seem to be on a very minimal level. But neither of us were ever folding our hands on this board so I guess the main purpose of this example is to show that, as Sklansky writes, poker is a gambling game. Sometimes it doesn't matter how smart or sneaky your opponent is, or how spazzed you are. If it's time for your Kings to crack his Aces, it's just gonna happen.

Here's a humor hand from 15/30 LHE that got me blessed out. I was on the table for only a short time, whilst on the list for 30/60, but I have an image among the 15/30 players as a lagtard. And in a moment you will probably see why.

I'm on a table full of nits. I decide to steal the blinds with 45 of hearts. No one at 15/30 will believe it, but most of the time I'm folding this hand. Not now. I have too much evidence that it's all I need to steal the blinds. So I open, and my opponent in the small blind -- we'll call her the lady of many hats -- three bets. Uh oh. Big blind folds. I call.

It's my flop: QJ, both hearts, 4 of spades.

I have a flush draw and a pair. If she was resisting me with an A-high hand, I might even be ahead. It's more likely that she either has a pocket pair or has just hit a Q or J on the board, so she's probably got the lead, but I'm thinking I have the equity here.* She bets, I raise, she calls. Hmm? The A-high in her hand suddenly looks a lot more likely.

The turn is a black rag. She checks, I bet, she calls without any noticeable enthusiasm. AK maybe.

The river is the seven of hearts. I has my flush, go me. Check, bet, call. Of course, my small flush is good and my opponent yells at me for ten more minutes, until I'm called for my 30/60 game. "How can you leave? Stay here. Play long enough like that, I'll make tons of money. I want my money back." Blah, blah, blah. I just giggled and shrugged. I felt like saying something I've often thought to myself, "Come on, lady, your talents are wasted on 15/30. Come on over and show us horrible 30/60 players how to play." But I managed to repress myself.

*So I finally got around to poker stoving the hand, and my hot/cold equity in the hand was 62.5% holding 54 of hearts on the QJ of heart, 4 of spades flop. Her equity after the flop was a sad and sorry 37.5%. I gave her a 3-betting blind defense range of a bit over 25% -- most A high hands, all pairs, plus some other logical blind defense hands.

For more ridiculous poker plays, click here to find my poker page index.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford