PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







flush draw

2010-06-10 - 1:50 a.m.

I have no idea why, but I decide to take a chance on the B. What a waste of time when there are so many better places to play No Limit. There aren't enough 2/5 NL tables, and I ended up on the waiting list for an hour. Worse that than, while I sat on the waiting list for an hour, I saw the greenbacks cross the palm in various handshakes. Let's see, there are four tables, and I wait an hour and no one leaves a seat for an hour?, c'mon, I know better than that. People who give bribes get seat first, simple as that. When they finally did cough up a seat, I was placed where I'd be in position on a friend, and there is nothing good that can come from playing with a friend. When I win, I feel guilty. When I lose, I feel angry. So I just picked up my chips without placing a bet and went to the Roman place next door.

The Roman place has a few issues -- the rake is too high, and the room too hidden from view. It also has some great benefits, in that, the caliber of "pro" player there was a joke compared to say, a pro player at the V, and they were also holding a drawing to give away $5,000, in $1,000 chunks, "must be present to win." Um, and the game is uncapped. Wow, uncapped 2/5 NL games in Vegas! I thought it was a Biloxi specialty. There was actually a $9,000 pot while I was there -- the largest 2/5 NL pot I've ever seen. Too bad I wasn't the recipient of the blufftard's generosity but...I willlll return.

I built up a huuuuuge stack but stupidly lost it on Q ♠ Q ♣ on a 6 ♣ 7 ♣ 7 ♠ 6 ♠ board. If it was the V, I'd be justified in thinking the small blind was trying to push me around with A K but c'mon. Against many savvy young V players, who can steal-raise from the small blind with a suited connector or some such junk, I could probably get away cheaper just because it's actually possible that they hold a hand like 9 ♥ 7 ♥ here. But against the uncreative (at best) minds I've met in my short visit to the Roman place? He's playing a big pair, AK, or AQ here, and after some back and forth, I knew in my soul that this dude had aces. Oh well.

To cut to the chase, I had a winning day, just not winning as much as I feel I should have. And I still can't decide if I should be incredibly angry with myself -- as I was -- or if I should just admit that Doyle himself can't get away from that board. C'mon, my opponent never plays AK, the other QQ, or JJ the same way?

Well, there's little percentage in grumbling about bad beats. Here is a hand from the session that might be semi-interesting.

Hand # 1: Calling Station Calling

I'm Under the Gun with 6 ♣ 5 ♣ with $445 in front of me. I raise $15, the target -- a European calling station who refuses to be bluffed -- calls, small blind folds, and big blind calls. $45 in pot. 3 players.

Flop: A ♣ 7 ♣ 5 ♠

I bet $30, and both of my opponents call. The pot now holds $135.

Turn: 9 ♣

Blind leads out with some joke of a feeler of $30, I make it $90, and now the European dude makes it $300 to go. Perhaps he doesn't understand that he has pot-committed me, and I honestly don't think he thinks that deeply, but anyhoo. The weakie now folds, and of course I go all in.

River: 5 ♥

Sure, the board has paired but I already know...My Hand Is Good.

So I'm still peeved at myself for losing the pocket Queens hand and not having my name drawn for the multi-thousands of dollars, so once I get close to even and my beautiful calling station goes busto, I get on my hind legs and walk back over to the V. Here I got a great table, for the V, fairly nit free, with another beautiful player who is happy to put me all in on a four flush board when I've flopped the nut flush. Wheeee meeeee!

Hand # 2: Nothing Deep About This, It's a Humor Hand

Ho-kay, here I sit, a new player at the table, with A ♥ 4 ♥ on the button. Being new to the table, I have my usual $350 in front of me. Limp, limp, I make a pot sweetener of $10 to go, blinds call, limpers call, $50 in the pot. 5 players.

Flop: T ♥ 7 ♥ 3 ♥

Hey, I has flopped the nuts on this action killing flop and you don't. I'm actually thinking to myself, "Wow, thank goodness I put in that pot sweetener, because that extra $20 is the only money I'm going to make on this flop." Imagine my happy surprise then when the small blind leads out for $30. The three folds to me are no great surprise, and, even though I suspect the small blind can't have much, I make it $90 to go on the chance he's flopped a smaller flush and will put in more action. He calls. $230 in the pot. Hey, I'm pot-committed on any non-board pairing turn and I really don't mind.

Turn: 8 ♥

Sweet Jeebus, talk about your action-killing cards. To my surprise, he again bets something, and I make it $200 to go, and he says, "all in," and since I'm holding the second nuts, of course, I say, "I call."

River: A ♦

My hand is good, tee hee. He buys in again, makes another dumb ass call down for all his chips, and then he's done, and it's time for me to head for bed. I won money, just not as much as I would have won if I'd never picked up pocket queens.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford