PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







i hate splitting my pots, yikes

2010-06-09 - 1:29 a.m.

The day started with more abuse by a storm-tossed fate, but I made a big comeback and ended up only a few pennies down. Here are some interesting hands.

Hand #1: Everybody's Pickin' On Me

I have not won a significant pot in four hours, and I was most memorably stacked when a guy came to the table, sat down on my left, and immediately picked up AA at the same time that I picked up QQ. Needless to say, it was a low card board, so I had no opportunity to get away from my hand. I have to assume that my image is 1-800-LOSER.

Limp, limp, I'm on the button with A ♥ 9 ♥ and I decide to throw in a pot sweetener. Small blind folds, sissy. Big blind calls, limpers call. $40 pot. 4 players.

Flop: Q ♦ 9 ♦ 9 ♣

Whee, I has flopped trips. It checks to me, and I bet $30. Fold, fold, a good old boy who could probably win back in 1970 but who is hopelessly out-classed now makes it $130.

I'm not sure what he has, but I decide to play flush defense -- call and shove a non-diamond turn. If he's on the straight draw, well, it's just unfortunate if a straight card comes.

Turn: 8 ♠

Somewhat to my surprise, he puts me all in. Of course, since I'm short-stacked, I'm never folding trips with top kicker here without a very special read. The river brings an irrevelant card, and he shows an offsuit K9. My hand is good, and he spends the next thirty minutes telling everybody, "She never raised me. I could have got away from it if she raised me." Mm-kay. I actually never raised him at least in part because I thought he might just be shoving me around with very little, like everybody else at the table...Also, in the remote case that someone his age can bet on the come, it's entirely possible that he could have turned a straight with a JT. So there was never a point where I saw a benefit to a raise. Let the bluffer keep bluffing, and if he's got something, well, I'll see it at showdown.

Hand # 2: A Bad Defense against Possible Flushes

Here's a hand where I think I may have played quite badly. I've made a small comeback and now have $530 in front of me. I pick up A ♣ K ♠ in an early-middle-ish position. Limp, limp, I make it $25 to go, blinds fold, one limper folds, and the limper who calls is a young Asian man who sometimes calls pre-flop raises light. For instance, I saw him call a $60 pre-flop 3-bet out of position against the old dude from the previous hand, with J ♥ 6 ♥ -- for the record, the old dude had an old dude's 3-betting hand there, pocket Kings.

Flop: K ♥ 2 ♥ 2 ♦

He checks to me, I bet $45 at the $60 heads-up pot. He calls.

Turn: 9 ♦

The pot is now $150, and I'm not interested in giving a free card to a flush draw because I know that he'll pay to draw even if he isn't getting the proper pot odds. (That J ♥ 6 ♥ hand again) I make it $85 to go, and he makes it $185. I smell something fishy about his check-raise. Does he really have pocket deuces? If so, too bad, so sad, because I call.

River: T ♥

Oh brother. Only now do I realize what a terrible position I've put myself in. How do I handle a flush card, and how much am I willing to pay, considering that I think he actually does have the flush a lot of times here? As I ponder, he checks. Whew. I am spared a difficult decision, and my hand is good. But there had to be a better way to play this one.

Hand # 3: Three Way All-In Wheeeeeee!

At this point I have about $650 in front of me. The big blind has around $575, and the good old boy mentioned in both of the above hands has $900. I know from comments that the good old boy has made about a (to me) perfectly obvious professional player who just left the table that he's pretty much at sea in the modern game. His whole gimmick is to trap aggressive players. Anyhoo, I'm in the small blind with J ♣ 9 ♣ and there's like limp, limp, he makes it $15 to go on the button, which I read as either a pot sweetener or a big hand, and I call, very good big blind calls, both so-so limpers call. 5 players. $75 pot.

Flop: K ♣ Q ♣ T ♦

Hell, I has flopped the second nuts with a re-draw to the club flush and sometimes the straight flush. I don't fear anyone holding A ♣ J ♣ because, guess what, J ♣ is in my hand.

I check, knowing that I can count on the man to my left to put in a bet, and so he does -- $40. Fold, fold, good old boy smooth-calls. I would normally be suspicious here, but I have way too much hand to be cautious. I make it $120 to go, and now all hell breaks loose.

Aggro player, who I already suspect of stealing a big pot with an all-in shove, goes all-in. Good old boy again smooth-calls. What the heck--? I go all in and now good old boy has to cover me as well.

Turn: 4 ♦

River: 3 ♥

I show down my hand, to the disgruntlement of the good old boy who flashes his pocket Kings before he folds. Aggro kid rolls over J ♠ 9 ♠ and we mostly split the pot, although I get do pick up $75 extra from the side pot. Argggghhhh. If my flush card comes, instead of being a small loser for the day, I'm a huuuuuuge winner. If if iffety if!

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford