PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







tiger, tiger, tiger, how can we miss you if you won't go away?????

2010-04-08 - 12:07 p.m.

Yesterday must have been the official day when Vegas let all the nits out of jail to hit the poker tables. I tried both the B and the V and the answer was the same both places -- nit hell. It's funny how nits identify themselves as soon as they open their mouths. I opened a 2/5 NL table at the V where a young nit was sharing nit wisdom with his equally nitty girlfriend. There was a middle-aged northern European man I've been playing with for three or four days who thinks he's tight -- a nit wanna-be? -- who buys in short and plays only big Broadway cards and big/maybe medium pairs. Call him Euro. Anyhoo, Euro has a short $200 stack and opens for $25. Everyone gets out of the way, except the button, who calls, and now there's $55 in the pot. The flop is an uncoordinated J high flop, and now Euro C-bets $30 more or so. Button raises, and Euro goes all in. Call. To cut to the chase, Euro shows down offsuit AJ, for top pair, best kicker, and his opponent beats him with a flopped set of fours.

Is it bad play by Euro? Well, sure, his best move before the flop with a short stack in early position and the worst hand in No Limit hold 'em, the trouble hand of AJ, is simply to fold it quietly. But once he decides to play, then he's pretty well pot-committed with his short stack if he catches top pair or better on an uncoordinated board.

He buys in for $200 again, finds another shove, and now the young nit -- we'll call him YN -- is really getting excited. "I wonder if he knows that tournament strategy is different from cash games," he says. Blah, blah, blah, blah. On and on he goes about how terrible it is to get it all in with top pair, top kicker. Really? Always? Even if you're short? I'm not going to contradict, but I think YN hasn't entirely thought it through.

When we get must moved, YN, girl, and I all end up on the same table, at the end of the same table. "Jesus, that must move game was terrible," I say. "No action at all."

"What about that European dude? He was loose."

"Um, did you notice that he only plays short? I've been playing with him for three days, and he always plays short. There's no money to win there."

"Well, I'll take it."

Needless to say, it's another table full of nits. It's easy to see $5 flops and frequently get a free turn, and pretty soon I turn a set. YN puts in a little on the flop, but that's it. Soon thereafter, I flop a set, and I get some callers on the flop, and then YN donks the turn, and it's time for my all-in shove, since he is himself playing short, with only $200. He should be pot-committed with any kind of decent hand at all, but of course he doesn't know that and so he folds. In fact, I make the exact same play against his $200 stack with no hand at all, just a bald-faced bluff, and he folds just the same, with one card flipped over to show he's folding a pair of Kings, unknown kicker. My holding at the moment is Jack high.

In other words, I'm making just as much money with stone bluffs or semi-bluffs, as with real hands.

In a final piece of irony, I limp into yet another limped multi-way pot with KJ offsuit, which is even worse than the worse hand in No Limit hold 'em, but I can beat this table with two pieces of cardboard, so ask me if I care. The flop is K high, two diamonds. At this point, YN has been dribbled away and had to re-buy twice, and now he has a $300-plus stack, but I don't expect to get much of it with a puny pair of Kings, meh kick. I'm also in early position, which ain't great either. So I check, he makes a small bet, maybe some other callers, and of course I'm not going anywhere just yet, because now I'm starting to pick up some overlay.

The turn is another K. That's interesting. If he holds a K, it's a better K. But with two of them in plain sight, it becomes rather more likely that he holds either the overpair of Aces (I do not know if he can resist raising them pre-flop but who knows with nits) or a set that just filled up. AK is also still possible. At this point, I know I'm pot-committed against his smallish stack with trip Kings, but he doesn't have to know it. I'm way ahead, way behind, and so instead of check/raising this turn, as I would do a lot of times to defend against the flush draw, I just quietly call his turn bet.

The final King, the King of diamonds, falls on the river. If by some strange chance, YN held a flush draw here, it just came in, but come on, he's got to know a flush is no good on that board. Equally sad but true, any full house he was holding just got counterfeited. It's a real tough board for crowbarring money out of a nit.

When he checks to me, if he was an unknown player, I could just shove the nuts and hope he calls the obvious bluff, but there's no way he's paying me his full stack on this board. I think and finally bet $100.

He sighs and twitches and agonizes and complains, but he finally forks over the $100. After I show down my quad kings, he stomps off in a huff and takes his equally nitty girlfriend with him. I'm amazed I got that much.

So it was a day where the lights went on and I started to see how idle conversation can really kill you at No Limit, while it's a pretty harmless diversion at Limit. For another example, Tiger Woods was on the teevee -- Tiger, how can we miss you if you won't go away? -- and an 80 year old white dude opined about how sad Tiger must be that he slept around and now his wife and kids are on another continent somewhere while all the other golfers have their wife and kids around them.

Come on, dude, I'm thinking. You're 80. (He said he was 80, I didn't.) The wives know the score. Everyone of those sports figures who is a millionaire or a billionaire is surrounded by temptation day in, day out, and "stuff" is gonna happen. It's the way of the wicked world. That's why the wives get paid so well to put up with it. This ain't advanced psychology. But the old boy is going on and on about how no woman is worth it, blah blah blah.

No woman is worth it, huh?

That's right. You guessed it. Another nit.

He finally wakes up with AK and I'm in position with A3 sooted, and the board is A33. I let him bet flop, bet turn, bet river, but when I finally shove the river, do I get a call????? Nooooooo. I could have played it the same way and taken down the damn pot if I was holding the mighty Four Deuce of offsuit.

So I could win only a bit at a time, while the nits sat around and waited to catch a hand and get my whole stack. The problem with their cool plan is the number of tables in Vegas. I get too deep at the V, get up, go over to the B, get too deep there, head back to the V, and open a new table with my usual $400 opener. And, yah, finally some guy did cooler me, catching an A high flush while I had a King high flush. Good for him. He makes $400. He's not even close to stopping me from having a winning day, tee hee.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford