PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







jackpot schemes and scams

2009-09-06 - 11:55 a.m.

In a raked game, I would normally chop the blinds. Especially in a raked game where there is a silly jackpot drop. If I wanted to dribble away dollars on a jackpot I won't ever win, I'd buy a lottery ticket. Be that as it may, I was moved to a table where I was seated between a couple of dudes old enough to know better. The table folds to me in the small blind, and I ask the big blind if he chops. "Check and see if you have a jackpot hand, and we'll play if you have a jackpot hand."

"Um, no. I'm not gonna tell you the quality of my hand. I'm not even going to look at my hand unless I know that I'm going to play it. So do you chop or not?"

"I play when I have a jackpot hand, and I chop when I don't."

"Um, no, if you don't chop, you don't chop all the time. So you're telling me you don't chop."

"We can check it down if you have a jackpot hand."

"Um, no, if you don't chop, you play. You don't chop. We play." This whole discussion is taking too damn long. I go ahead and look at my hand. It's the magnificent 4, 3 of offsuitedness, so I complete -- repressing the urge to indulge in a spite raise. The flop is 9, 3, 4. I bet. Dude folds. There is further discussion of this jackpot that neither one of these dudes is ever gonna win, in some futile effort to persuade me to go along with their selective chopping bullshit. I finally point out that the jackpot would have been voided anyway, because 1) dude is discussing my hand values with me, and 2) dude has two racks of chips sitting on the table.

"Oh, no, the rules don't apply to us, unless the dealer says something. You wouldn't say anything, would you, man?"

Oh FFS. I'm like, guys, I'm not going to get involved in anything dishonest, so just leave me out of it. Plus, in any case, I'm not an idiot. If I have a "jackpot hand," you can call me down and find out on the river. I'm not going to tell you my holdings before the freaking flop.

Well, that's part one of the story. Here's part two. The two dudes left soon thereafter. A young, unsophisticated Asian man, who apparently took seriously their advice to play "jackpot hands" (and then check them down after the flop) remained. This poor clueless loser, over and over again, limped in with pocket pairs of any size whatsoever and any position whatsoever and then just tried to check it down in pots that involved only his buddies. He would also open limp these hands, even in a later position. At one point, he open limped from the cut-off, the button folded, small blind folded, and I looked down to see 97 of offsuit. Since the table was over-all loose and somewhat passive, I'd very little opportunity to make "plays." This was a table where you have to make hands to win, not plays. However, in this spot, I saw my chance. My young Asian buddy had either a small pocket pair or a suited connector. So I figured I had a very good chance of making the steal. (And if I do get caught in the rare steal, it reinforces their fishy tendencies to continue calling me too much.) So I raise. He calls.

The flop is K, T, 9 of offsuitedness. Good-bye to my friend's sooted connectors. I bet. He calls. OK, he has a pocket pair -- pocket 8s or smaller. I'm actually winning. (OK, he could have 98 sooted, which beats me, but I sure wasn't reading any great enthusiasm in his flop call.)

The turn is the second K. Nothing has changed. I bet.

"Filled up already?" he grumbles. And yet he calls, because that's just what he does. The river is whatever. I bet again, and finally he notices that he just isn't going to win this one, and he folds.

I guess I have to somewhat sympathize with the jackpot angle shooter dudes, who want to get back some of that huge jackpot drop but hey. I found a way to do it without breaking the rules of the jackpot. The young man was telling me what he held, and I didn't have to say a word.

For more ill-advised poker plays, visit the index to my poker pages right here.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford