PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







back-to-back winners or, where's that kill button when you need it?

2009-10-08 - 5:46 p.m.

Not many interesting hands on the last trip to Vegas. What's cool and new to say about I had pocket AAs and he had pocket KKs, so naturally he caught his two outer on the river blah de blah de blah. However, I did take notes on a couple of hands that I played (and won) back to back when I was way down at the table. I think I handled them well, but who knows...30/60 LHE.

On the first hand I was UTG 8 handed or so with AQ of diamonds. I raised and got a cold call from a good young kid who was running hot and cold-calling maybe a bit too much to take advantage of his rush. Blinds fold, and we're heads up. The flop is J, 7, 3 rainbow.

I C-bet, he auto-raises, I call. No one's range has been narrowed. He is probably a little more inclined to take potshots at me because I've been on a big losing streak.

Turn is another 3, which changes nothing. I'd like to fold out any AK or any other AQs, as well as small pocket pairs, and I'd like to send the message that fucking with me can get expensive. I also don't mind denying odds to any gutshots he might hold, like 89 or T9 -- the sooted versions of these hands aren't beyond his cold calling range. If he comes back with a 3-bet, oh well, I'm out of here. You can argue with my play since AQ has showdown value so maybe not the ideal hand to turn into a pure bluff but it is what it is.

He thinks a l-o-n-g time and then folds. Small pocket pair? Hollywooding even though he has nothing, to give me the wrong idea about what I've achieved? We'll never know.

On the very next hand, of course I'm in the big blind. I have K9 of offsuit. Oh, I hate this hand, but a different tough player on the hijack raises. I don't think a fold here is bad, even getting 3-2/3 to one, because I have a dominated hand, and I'll be acting out of position on all subsequent rounds, but I don't think seeing a flop is bad either if I can get away from it. Plus I'm tired of being forced off my blind every time. So I call.

The flop is A99.

Nothing wrong with the check-raise here, but I think he'll mis-read a donk as me trying to make a play, and I'll be able to screw with him a little bit later.

So I bet, he raises, I call. My little trap is set, tee hee.

The turn is some random card. I donk again. Now he's really peeved. He of course raises. I three-bet. At this point, he figures out that he might just be beat. There's the long, drawn-out Big Think but finally he folds. Too bad. I was actually hoping he'd call down because my play was so screwy.

Do I actually make more money than if I played it more traditionally?

Let's see. Check-raise the flop, he calls. Lead the turn, he calls. Bet the river, he calls. No, I make the same amount of money but, this way, I have the occasional chance that he does scratch his head (or does have an A) and he puts in a little more money than he intended. I certainly wouldn't play it this way very often though. In fact, most times, unless the steal raise is coming from the cut-off or the button or from a rather laggy player, I wouldn't even bother to call with the K9 of way too easy to be dominated...

For more completely absurd poker plays, click right here to the index to my silly poker pages.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford