PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







some moves not so smooth

2010-11-21 - 12:53 a.m.

It always rains in Vegas, and today is no exception. Although, for a change of pace, the V's moving sidewalks have not (yet) stalled out due to rain.

I've just spent a rather exciting couple of hours and have decided to come back, write out what just happened, and later return to the table with 1) a smaller stack for folks to take potshots at, and 2) a clearer idea of whether I'm playing smart or letting myself get a little crazy.

OK, here's the backstory. When I first sat down at the table, I quickly became aware of the most loose-aggressive of the Turkish players -- call him Turkish guy # 1-- his various buddies, both on and off the table, and another guy who seemed to want to play every pot against Turkish guy # 1. On my very first hand, I raised from the cut-off, a young blond man who may (or may not) be buddies with the others (but probably isn't) called on the button, and immediately Turkish guy # 1 makes a raise. It looks like a squeeze, but I call, the button calls, and we end up folding on the flop. Whatever. Once I see how hyper-aggressive Turkish guy #1 is, I realize that I should have probably played back at him, but whatever. Some time later, I raise from the cut-off, Turkish guy # 2 (who was walking during the first hand) calls, and when I C-bet the flop, he shoves all-in -- a huge overbet to the pot in question.

And the whole next hour is like that. More than an hour. I get very few opportunities and when I do try to get involved, I'm blasted off the pot. Finally, I'm in the blind and call a min-raise in a 5 way pot with Q ♦ 5 ♦ -- only to get a K ♦ 6 ♦ T ♦ flop. Yay, I have flopped the second nuts. Not so yay, because another player held A ♦ 7 ♦ for the stone cold nuts.

So, to summarize, I have mostly been folding pre-flop or on the flop and when I do showdown a hand for stacks, it's the second nuts. It was the losing hand, yes, but showing it down doesn't make me look like any kind of loose or wild player who needs to get paid off light. I'm starting to get concerned that I won't be able to make any kind of a come-back, because who is going pay me off if I actually hit? Now, plenty of regs may think of Peachfront as the silliest, spewiest player going, but this was a table full of unknowns. So what's my plan now?

An hour and ten minutes into the session, I win my first hand -- picking up 30 big ones. Yikes. But I quickly slide back down to an approximately $390 stack or so. At this point, we come to my first significant hand.

Hand #1: Way Past Time for a Squeeze

Turkish guy #1 and some of his buddies have left for the 5/T game, but the young blond guy (who seems pretty reasonable) and Turkish guy #2 (an addicted pre-flop squeezer and stealer) are still hanging around. There's a couple of limpers, TG #2 makes it $20 to go from the hijack, Blondie calls on the button, and the small blind folds. I'm in the big blind with 9 ♠ 5 ♠

I know the limpers will fold to me unless they're doing some strange limp/re-raise deal. TG #2 probably doesn't have as much as you'd think, and he'll fold. Then there's a good chance that Blondie will not be getting proper odds, and he'll fold. I make it $100 to go. Now, I realize that 95, even if it's sooooooted, is not a standard hand for squeezing, but I really feel that I couldn't wait much longer to make something happen. So I went for it.

As predicted, the limpers and TG#2 lay down without any fuss. Blondie agonizes for way too long for a pre-flop decision, either Hollywood or genuine weakness. I vote for weakness. He finally calls, and we have an approximately $240 pot. Heads-up.

Flop: 9 ♥ 6 ♦ K ♠

Well, I have a pair of nines, no kicker, and a backdoor spade draw, but I don't think it much matters what I have. I shove all-in, and he agonizes some more but ultimately folds.

Now, I don't like to be cruel, but the whole purpose of the play was to induce pay-offs later in the session, so I've got to show the hand. I flip it over with a "Thank you, Jeebus!" which probably doesn't win me too many friends but does bring some laughter from my side of the table. Blondie now hates me.

Hand #2: I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

I have just picked up $140 on my bluff, so now I have around $530 in my stack. On the very next hand, there's a buncha limpers, including TG #2 and Blondie. When it gets to me, I realize that I have picked up K ♣ K ♠ and I need to play them fast since they just saw me get stupid with nothing in the big blind. I raise to $45 and the usual limpnits don't go for it. Even TG #2 folds. However, Blondie in the cut-off agonizes again. (He really should work on his poker face, but I'm guessing he's barely legal and usually plays online tournaments.) He just can't fold twice to the same play. He calls, and the button folds, small blind folds, and we're heads-up. There's something like $110 in the pot.

Flop: J ♥ T ♦ 6 ♠

I make the $100 C-bet, and he raises to $200. He's fighting the last war, and I'm sure that he can usually take the pot from second pair, no kicker with that play. However, even if he doesn't know it, I know that he can't fold a pair of Jacks to me now, and I feel comfortable getting all-in on this board with my overpair. I shove. He agonizes endlessly but, of course, he just can't back down twice in a row. He calls.

Turn: 7 ♥

River: A ♣

That is truly not the river I wanted to see, because one of his possible holdings for calling my shove is AJ, but my hand is good. I have doubled up, and he takes his remaining $200 off the table and stomps off. My bad.

I now have a $1,060 stack. Since I'm in seat 6, and he's in seat 1, I don't have a good spot to attack TG #2 and his frequent steals, but you'd better believe that I'm looking for opportunities. Meanwhile, having won three hands all day, I am back on my track of getting nibbled down. Maybe I have $930 or so at the point when I get to the next hand. It doesn't matter exactly, since the effective stack is TG #2's $650.

Hand #3: I Know You Know I Know You're Stealing With Nothing...but Come On, At Least Make it Look Good

I've been aware that if TG#2 is on the button or the big blind, he is HIGHLY likely to raise -- pretty much he does it every time, predictably, guaranteed. I'm in an earlyish position, with a limper in front of me, and I look down at T ♠ T ♦. Perfect. I limp and a buncha other people limp, and it gets to TG #2 in the big blind, and he makes it $50 to go. Everybody folds to me, and since he is playing bills, I do have to ask for a count. (Subtle, huh?) I could just fold here, but it would be ridiculous with this much hand, and I've really been waiting for exactly this situation to execute a re-steal, or maybe even get it heads-up with the best starting hand. I make it $200 to go, the tight clueless mouse-nit limpers fold, and he agonizes for awhile. Again what's with all the angst? None of these guys ever hear of having a poker face? I know he's weak as shit, but ultimately his testosterone won't let him back down, and he calls.

Flop: 8 ♣ 9 ♥ A ♠

I see no value to betting this flop. If he has an Ace, I'm dead, and if he doesn't, I would like to induce a bluff bet. When he checks, I check.

Turn: 7 ♦

He just doesn't have the post-flop aggression of TG # 1. In fact, he gives me this really hairy eyeball and then checks again. Most of the time, when it's checked to you twice, then I think you might as well bet and take it down. However, I now have an open-ended straight draw to go with my decent pair, so I decide to check yet again. This guy very frequently shows down hands like A7, and I don't necessarily feel like betting and getting check/raised off a pot that I had a chance to win. So I check a second time also. However, I really don't like this check all that much. Why give this guy so many free cards? It's one of the reasons I wrote down the hand -- and one of the reasons I decided to leave the table.

River: 3 ♣

For a third time he checks, and I realize that either he has an Ace with a very small kicker (but not a 3) that he wants to showdown cheap, or he has nothing at all. The Ace won't fold after I've checked it on the flop and the turn, and the nothing won't call. So I check and take the pot.

After a couple of other small but still maybe not that great plays, I decide to take my comeback, my profit, and a nice walk through the rain. The walk in the rain part might be sarcasm. But seriously? What's with all the rain in this town?

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford