PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

return of the song sparrow - 2021-03-03
goodbye to my beautiful Sheldon the 30-year-old peachfront conure - 2021-01-31
we hate squirrels - 2020-12-30
purple is the color - 2020-12-25
double star of bethlehem 2020 - 2020-12-21


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







i just love pushing pocket kings off a hand, don't you?

2010-11-20 - 2:04 a.m.

A long grind today at 2/5 NL but I ultimately pulled out the win. A few hand histories for your viewing pleasure.

Hand #1: Table Fulla Nits

I'm mostly in nit hell here. I'm never gonna get paid off if I hit my hand, but I get plenty of folds. I played this particular table for 4 hours, booked a win, and noticed that the money came from taking down the small and medium pots, because if they stuck around to build a big pot, I was beat. In this particular hand, my primary opponent is an 83 year old regular, who has forgotten that he has played me several times before. He's pretty much a TAGnit with very little creativity, although he knows the standard moves -- as well he might, after supporting himself from his gambling endeavors for the last six or seven decades.

Because he's very, very tight pre-flop, I feel like the cut-off is almost a second button. I can't really justify over-limping a buncha limpers in the cut-off with K♦ 2♦ -- but I thought the old boy was gonna fold yet again, so I did. I'd been doing very well with position steals and I guess I got greedy. Besides, it's just a $5 investment. So let's overlook the stupidity of the call and just admit that it is what it is. I threw my $5 chip into the pot, hoping to gain position. To my surprise, the old boy pries loose a redbird from his stack and calls also.

Anyhoo, it's 6 or 7 players to the flop, and away we go.

Flop: A ♦ 4 ♣ 6 ♦

I have flopped a draw to the nuts. My stack is about 400, which is the small stack at this table. Everybody checks to me, and I bet $25. To my surprise, the old boy makes it $100 to go -- a shut-out raise, really, since everybody else has to fold.

Hmmm. He likes to get frisky on the flop, but he can fold on the big streets, and if all he holds is an ace, I can't expect to get anything on the turn or river if I make my hand. I need to make my move now, so I three-bet to $200, and now he agonizes for a long while before he calls. Maybe it's Hollywooding but since I'm drawing to the nuts, I'm not gonna be shy.

Turn: 2 ♣

Wheeeee. I now has a pair to go with my nut flush draw. I shove. He agonizes some more and then folds. "All I have is a pair of deuces," he mutters. I doubt it, because as seldom as he calls on the button, I'm not putting him on some random 2 3 of whatever for the gutshot draw, but what the frack ever. I am the winner and still champeen.

Hand #2: Hey, I Flop a Set, that Never Happens!

I'm at the same limpy weird nit game. Under-the-Gun limps, I limp with 4 ♥ 4 ♣ in the next position, and some other folks join the party. 6 players. $30 pot.

Flop: Q ♣ 4 ♦ 9 ♦

I have flopped trips and have no reason to believe anyone else has squat or any reason to bet. I shrug and bet $25. A somewhat unsophisticated middle position player calls. The button calls.

3 players. Pot $105.

Turn: 7 ♠

I'm not sure what to bet in a 3way pot, but I think I can still get paid on this rather non-threatening board while making the flush draw pay if I play my cards right. I decide to bet $75, and the middle position player raises to $200. The button folds, and I now shove all-in.

He thinks for like...forever...while I'm praying for a call, but ultimately he folds. The button asks for a rabbit hunt, which is supposedly not allowed, but the dealer flashes him the 5 ♠ which fills his straight draw and beats my set. So glad that my middle position pal helped to fold him off his hand.

Hand #3: A Change of Pace

I booked a good-sized win by taking all the small and medium pots and losing the (rare) big pot. However, I got sick of playing the nit game, I cashed out my profit, and took a walk before I headed back to join a new game. The new table was full of unknowns, and as I sat down, I noticed that somebody was paying off a huge bet with no kind of hand at all...so I decided that I was sick of trying to fold people off hands and I wanted to get paid when I hit too. So...I was looking for an opportunity to prove what a big blufftard who needed to get paid off that I was.

The opportunity came pretty soon. A young man who didn't look particularly "with it" joined the game. He open-raised to $20 in the hijack on his first or second hand. It folds to me in the big blind, where I pick up J ♣ T ♣ and I think for a minute. If I thought he was a young "playa," I might three-bet him and try to pick up the hand right there. But I think this guy actually HAS a hand that can't fold. I decide to smooth-call and look for a steal opportunity.

Flop: T ♦ 8 ♦ 4 ♦

To skip to the chase, since the original write-up contained some significant errors, the final hand was:

T ♦ 8 ♦ 4 ♦A♣8♥

By this time, I'm reading him for pocket kings which from nervous young guy's point of view beats nothing except a bluff. I push all-in and he folds face-up. Two black kings. "Tell me I wasn't drawing dead on the flop," he says, and since I'm looking for a reason to show I can make a big river bluff, I say, "No, you definitely weren't drawing dead," as I flip up my hand.

End result: Yes, I do get some river calls I would NEVER get on the first table. But only from the official table calling stations...so I'm still left in doubt that I needed to make these kooky plays.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford