PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







how to get paid with quads

2009-04-14 - 5:54 p.m.

From a good loose aggressive 30/60 game, with one calling station (not involved in this hand) and one maniac (who is).

I have A3 of diamonds in early position. There's a poster, maniac is on the button, a very aggressive and skilled small blind almost sure to defend his blind, and a big blind who will come along when he's getting 9 to 1. A good play might be to limp in looking to get a flush, because the pot odds will be right, but I decide instead that I'll still get four opponents even if I raise, and this play might also add some deception to my game. So I raise. Poster calls, maniac calls, blinds call.

The flop is 5, 3, 3. Oops, no diamonds. Guess I'll just have to enjoy the trips.

Aggressive small blind bets, I raise (because maniac will call or 3 bet anyway), poster folds, maniac 3 bets (because that flop didn't hit anything an early position raiser will have so he might as well get it heads up with small blind), small blind 4 bets (same reason, to get rid of me with my overcards/overpair), I cap, and away we go, having lost only two of the original five players.

At this point, the small blind is starting to get suspicious but...the turn is a harmless little T. He checks, I bet, maniac raises, small blind 3 bets. Now you have to ask yourself what the small blind has to put in a check/3 bet in that spot. Considering he knows the maniac has little or nothing, he probably just wants to blow me off the pot with his AT, pair of 5s, or some such not too scary holding. There's also a small chance that he chose to slowplay AA or KK pre-flop to create just this impression. I don't worry about pocket tens in his hand because he didn't 3 bet pre-flop -- this is a guy who straddles and 3, 4, and 5 bets pre-flop at the smallest excuse and he doesn't pass up pre-flop raising TT in a million years. AA maybe, but never TT. I believe that my hand is still good, and I four bet the turn.

Maniac calls and the small blind calls. With no one re-raising again in a three-handed pot, considering the testosterone level of these players, I pretty much have to eliminate the chance that one of them holds pocket tens or pocket fives.

Holy Jesus, it just seems too good to have both of them come along to pay me off. The maniac must have a single T in his hand. Or maybe he has a pair of pocket 66s, who the hell knows. I realize unless something goes very, very tragically wrong, I'm about to get a good payday.

The river card is...wait for it...the case 3. I have quad 3s. Check, I bet, maniac calls, and the small blind calls. That's right. I have quads and I get two, count em, two callers on the river. Folks, it can happen here. Definitely one for the diary.

The small blind stomped off and demanded an immediate table change. Didn't even play his button. He was through, done, disgusted. He didn't show his hand but from his reaction, I had the impression it was one of the few pockets he wouldn't raise from the small blind, in other words, KK and AA. Hey, he was behind the whole time. As for the maniac, who the hell knows what he had. He probably thought two overcards were enough on that board. After all, if he's throwing in turn 3-bets with bullshit, why shouldn't my turn 4 bet be equally bullshitty?

Sigh. Why can't they all be that terrible? Eventually, we lost him to some crappy Omaha game where he can play bingo with four cards.

You can return to my index of poker pages by clicking right here.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford