PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







big hands deserve big pots, or don't be like the old lady i saw who slow-played her flopped quad jacks all the way to the river to induce a whopping 25 buck river bet from her opponent, what a waste

2010-03-06 - 10:09 p.m.

A few hand histories for your viewing pleasure.

Fun with Quad Fours

First, a humor hand from $10/$20 Limit Hold 'Em.

The game was full of a bunch of squeaky tight old geezers for awhile but now it has turned into a loose passive limpfest, so I feel good about limping in with small pocket pairs even from early position. Let's see how it goes with 4 ♦ 4 ♠ ...

I limp, 2 more limpers, the button raises, the blinds call, all the rest of us call to put 12 small bets in the pot.

Flip: 4 ♥ 9 ♥ 3 ♣

I'm sorry to say that I don't remember the exact flop action, but it was something like maybe the small blind bets and I'm not ready to knock everybody out just yet, so I just call. We end up with five players, I remember that, for a total of 17 small bets -- now 8.5 big bets.

Turn: 4 ♣

Check, check, I bet, call, button folds, blinds call. I don't sense much excitement here, so I'm hoping and praying that they get a river card that they like. 12.5 big bets in the pot now.

River: Q ♥

Yay for the flush draws. They got there. The small blind is almost all-in and quickly bets out. Big blind calls. I has the nuts, so I raise. The next dude finally folds his overpair (I'm just guessing, but what else can it be?) and the small blind goes all in but I think for his last chip. Fortunately, I also get a call from the big blind. I'm a little disappointed not to get a re-raise but it's pretty clear that nobody has a set here. Anyway, I scoop a 17.5 big bet pot. Not bad, not bad at all. There's nothing real deep about this hand, but it's just nice to know that you can turn quads and still get paid off. Hee hee.

Five Flopped Sets, or, I Have To Stop Using that Line About How I Flopped a Set Once in 1982...

For whatever reason, March 6 was the day of flopping sets. I flopped five of them -- twice I ended up getting stacked by a bigger set, and once I ended up stacking my opponent who bluff-shoved all-in for almost all of my remaining stack when I happened to flop a set of threes on the button. I'd already put quite a bit into the pot so I'm not sure why he didn't figure I was pot-committed. But I won't quibble about being handed money.

The very next hand I flopped a set of Jacks from the cut-off. I didn't even know for sure how much money I had because I was still stacking chips, but there were multi limpers and I did a good-sized raise in position, which everybody called, so the pot was good-sized before the flop. Then some dude donks one-half pot from early position, and it folds around to me on the button. I raise to be equal to what's in the pot already, with the plan of getting all-in on the turn if a non-flush or non-straight card comes -- two of the flop cards were Q ♣ J ♣, you see. Well, the turn card was the Q ♦ which gives me a full house. Dude checks to me, and I just have to hope he has a Queen, because I'm not gonna make the pot any bigger by checking. At this point, there's $140 times 3 in the pot already -- $420. So I go all-in. He doesn't call, so he doesn't have a Queen, and I just wasn't gonna get any more money out of him. He later told me he had A ♦ K ♦. So I priced him off his straight draw which means that there were only three cards left in the deck to convince him to put more money in the pot, the three non-club Tens...unless there's some tiny chance he would pay off if he had a non-club Ace or King also. Who knows now?

The other set that I won was when I came in with pocket deuces on the button because there was an early position raiser and two cold callers with lots of money behind. The pre-flop raiser leads the safe looking low card flop, the guys in between fold, and I try to make a reasonable sized raise with the intention of getting all-in on the turn. But the guy must have had absolutely nothing and was just making the C-bet, because he folded.

OK, I don't think playing the sets was particularly complex, so here are a couple of hand histories from 2/5 NL that don't involve flopping sets.

Top Pair Plus an Open-Ended Straight Draw -- A Good Push?*

In a previous hand, my quietly drunk opponent to be in this hand called an all-on turn shove with A ♥ 9 ♥ on a T ♠ T ♥ 9 ♦ 7 ♦ board after his opponent made big bets pre-flop, and on the flop, to get the pot big enough to be able to shove the turn without (greatly) overbetting. So maybe that's my clue train that I have zero fold equity against this guy. Be that as it may, I'm in the small blind with K ♣ 8 ♣ and I have the smallest effective stack with about $450 or so. It's early in the session, so I haven't really established any kind of image that I'm aware of.

A bunch of limpers -- in fact, it turned out to be an 8 player pot. I certainly felt I could throw in $3 to complete. $40 in the middle.

Flop: K ♠ 7 ♦ T ♦

OK, and here's where the trouble began. Maybe in an 8 player pot, I could have just assumed that I was beat then and there, but I decided to test the waters by tossing out a $30 bet. I wanted to see what the reaction was and what position it came from. So the guy from the big blind immediately raised to a total of $70. Everybody else folds back to me. I have to call $40 more in a $140 pot. I could just fold right there, because he could have a better King. He could also have some other kind of real hand. But I decide to call and see what develops on the turn, which was an unfortunate decision, because the next card is the 9 ♥ giving me an open-ended straight draw to go with my top pair. I'm still ahead of the diamond draw, I still have top pair with no kick which may or may not be good against a drunk on a rush, and now I also have 8 outs to beat top two or a set, and 14 outs to beat top and bottom pair, and 16 outs to beat bottom two pair. There's $180 in the pot, and I have maybe $270 left. So when he bets $110 on the turn, I push all-in. None of my multitude of outs materializes on the 3 ♦ river, and he shows down T7 of some random off-suitedness to take down the pot.

Two ways to play AK, and they can't always both be wrong

This is from a different 2/5 NL table where I've been struggling. Lots of pre-flop raises, lots of C-betting, only to get one wild-eyed blind defender constantly donking at me from out of position. And if it isn't him giving me aggravation, it's somebody else doing a flop check/raise. I guess it should be obvious that I've been making a lot of steal raises in position, because when somebody plays back at me, I have to fold. A lot. Anyways, I have A ♦ K ♦ in a latish position, let's say it's the hijack. I've again got about $450 to make me the little stack at the table. Some guy opens for $20, and I raise to $60. It folds to the big blind who calls, and "some guy" also calls. The pot is already $180.

Flop: K ♥ K ♠ 6 ♥

Check, check, and the action is on me. The classic move is to slow-play this flop and let these guys catch something before I start firing away, but they've seen me C-betting flop after flop with very little. It's time to cash in on my loose image. There's $180 in the pot, so fuck it (excuse my French, Mom), I'm betting $180. The blind now folds, and "some dude" calls again. Heart draw who thinks I'll give up on the turn and give him two cards for the price of one? Quite possibly, but, boy, is he in for a surprise. I actually have a hand this time. There's now $180 times three in the pot, for a total of $540, and my intention is to attempt to get all-in on any non-heart turn. If by some odd-mischance he has pocket sixes for a flopped boat, oh well.

Turn: 7 ♣

Check, I go all-in, and the dude folds with much grumbling. He says that he had J ♥ T ♥ -- I guess I was supposed to let him draw out on me for cheap? Ha. Good luck with that plan, folks.

Humor Footnote: D. found an article written by the writer guy who always writes about the 30/60 LHE at the Bellagio, which happened to be a pretty not very deep article about playing JT sooted. It seems he played the hand and was beaten by two of the worst local players in the game. Who he named by name. Oopsie. I wouldn't think you could actually get paid real U.S. cash dollars to write about a fish who held AQ somehow, mysteriously, beating you out of a pot where you started with JT, but it's nice work if you can get it.

* Actually, I've concluded that it was a terrible shove against a guy who can't fold. The calling station was the wrong opponent for the turn semi-bluff, that's for sure. However, since they now think I'm capable of big bets with not much, at least I think I collected more than I would have otherwise on that table with my pocket 33s and pocket JJs hands, both of which played after the K8 ♣ hand.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford