PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







satsuma flowers

2003-04-07 - 11:55 a.m.

satsuma flowers
� 2003 by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved
After four dry springs in a row, we've finally had a decent rainy season, and the backyard Satsuma has exploded in bloom. Even the troubled Satsuma in the front yard is showing a flower or two.

I heard the slightly crazed laughter of a woodpecker but didn't see it. It didn't sound maniacal enough to be Pileated. Perhaps it was a Flicker. Turning over an empty flower pot, I discovered my first Gulf Coast Toad of the year. I dug up the Orange Mint bed, put in when I was constantly traveling and needed an invasive plant to fill the bed, and have covered it first in newspaper, then with peat humus, then with potting soil, then with humus again. I have pots and pots of Orange Mint and, assuming they transplant well, which they generally do, I should have herbal tea and sprigs for juleps and Camparis until well into next winter.

I'm thinking of digging out the Oregano bed as well, but it will have to wait until I get more dirt and compost.

I made a nice salad with the green and red leaf lettuce from the garden, with the addition of some wild garlic dug out of the lawn. I sprinkled the yellow flowers from some escaped birdseed on top. This plant looks like broccoli and the flowers taste like broccoli sprouts, but I'm pretty sure it's rape. I thought they'd changed the name of rape to canola, but apparently only a special variety of rape, that produces lots of oil, is called canola. I sprinkled feta cheese over all.

Soon I won't have any wild garlic left in the lawn. Unfortunately, I think it would be too weird if I helped myself to the neighbor's.

later

The male Northern Cardinal has discovered the sunflower seed feeder we put up this weekend and is eating so fast that the sunflower shells are flying.

later

Torrential thunderstorm this afternoon. The lights kept blinking, and I was afraid that the electricity would go out, so I kept the computer off for a few hours. It sounds like it's getting cranked up again, so I'll probably sign off in a few minutes.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford