PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







spray, spray, spray

2003-06-26 - 9:28 a.m.

Hummingbird Report: An immature male R-T just visited the near feeder. Two feathers have already opened in his gorget, and they flashed like individual rubies as he turned in the light.

Tuesday evening, we had the annual ritual of catching all the birds and moving them to the back screenhouse for the termite inspection. As the manager once told me, "All these technicians know is, 'spray, spray, spray!'" and while it is doubtless primitive and unevolved of me, I do live in south Louisiana, with its rich termite ecofauna, and I fully do expect to see some 'spray, spray, spray' on the annual visit. Anyway, the man arrived promptly Wednesday morning and did just that. In about an hour, the full 24 hours since his spraying will have passed, and I can move the birds back to their porch. They are already getting a bit restless but they've actually been very good and very quiet about the whole adventure this year.

lunchtime

The birds are back in their nice clean cages without too much fuss and bother. A flock of perhaps a dozen adult and immature male Common Grackles have descended on the feeder and assisted the Mockingbird family in completely cleaning out the suet cake. Now one of the Grackles is enjoying my pond. Time to give the suet feeder another rest, I suppose. Actually, I find the adult Grackles very attractive with their flashing feathers, but I just can't keep up with their voracious appetites, so I'll likely be putting out suet on a semi-random basis rather than fighting to keep the feeder perpetually filled.

I made my reservations for the Brownsville International Birding Festival. I'll need to practice putting the tent up by myself, as I've only done so once.

around 1:15 P.M.

Oh, for crying out loud. Three Mockingbird fledglings, who were large and well-developed enough to find their own food, came over to the feeder and started crying pathetically, so what is an easily guilt-tripped Peachfront to do? I just put out another suet cake, and they are having a fine old time chasing the Grackles and grabbing the goodies and just generally going around in circles.

around 5:15 P.M.

The Mockingbirds finished stuffing themselves and went off somewhere. Now the hordes of Common Grackles are back. Sometimes they knock each other off the suet feeder. I'm waiting for one of them to knock the other one into the pond, but so far, all the pond visits have been voluntary. There are a couple of Grackle bathing beauties in there right now.

My telescope finally arrived. I have never received a FedEx so late in the day before. I was about to give up all hope when I heard the doorbell a few minutes ago.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford