PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







if we really squeezed a guy with top two out of a pot that size, i'm impressed with us

2010-04-11 - 1:25 a.m.

2/5 NL. On a previous hand, I stacked a shorty with an overpair of 7s and a good read that the shorty held either an Ace and a face or a club draw. (When he mucked, he actually flashed A ♣ T ♣ -- tee hee.) But I get an impression that the nit to my left is thoroughly unimpressed with my creativity and doesn't have much respect for my play. Another man has just sat down on his left, a regular that I recognize and consider pretty decent from what I've seen so far.

A quiet Asian guy in middle position opens for $20. He has, ermmmm, let's say $700.

I have the button and $840. I think he's foldy, and I know that my small blind guy is pretty nitty after the flop, so I call with T ♠ 8 ♠ with a plan to steal post-flop.

To my surprise, the nitty small blind also calls. He has about $1,200.

The big blind calls. He has a short stack of only $280 so even though I think he's decent he's not the really scariest guy at the table.

The pot is $80.

Flop: 9 ♣ 7 ♠ 3 ♥

Both blinds check, and the original pre-flop raiser makes a pointless C-bet of $45. From what I've seen of his play, there's very little chance that he hit this flop, although of course he could always have a monster like a big overpair or a set of 9s. There's now $125 in the pot and, hey, as far as I'm concerned, I can take it down right now with my open-ended straight draw.

So I raise to $125.

To my surprise, the nitty small blind calls. Now there's $375 in the pot, and if the big blind has anything, he is pretty much pot-committed. He shoves all in, and the original pre-flop raiser folds without any fuss. I ask the dealer to break down the big blind's bet and give me a count. As he does so, I can see from the corner of my eye that the small blind is getting ready to call. In fact, he seems to assumes that I'm going to fold, because he has already pushed forward his call.

That is soooooo just not going to happen. If he has the same straight draw, I'd like to shove him out of my pot right now. I also know that he thinks I'm rather loose, and I would be happy to fold out a few of the hands that are currently beating me, such as A 9 suited. In other words, I would rather just play this huge pot heads-up against a shorty who can't threaten my stack. So I now shove all in.

The small blind agonizes for an endless amount of time and then folds. He apparently flashes a 7 to the other side of the table and later claims that he folded top 2. So he's especially bitter when the turn card is...you guessed it..the 9 ♠.

The river is the 6 ♣

Result? I do have the straight, but the shorty was unfortunately also drawing to the same straight, so we end up splitting the pot. Of course, we both would have lost if the small blind really held the hand he claimed and possessed the stones to call my semi-bluff. Squeeze play successful...

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford