PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







the theme of the day -- a set of tens is twice as nice as a set of nines

2010-04-12 - 12:27 p.m.

Sometimes a plan comes together. I made a few plays and established an image as someone you should pay off. Unfortunately, at the V, I got pretty far down before I roared back to pocket a small profit. At the Wynn, I followed the same strategy, except I never had to buy in for more than $200 to cash out over $1,200. So here's how it went...

Fun with Nine Dooey Offsuit

2/5 NL at the V

The first hand I showed down was a small blind squeeze against multiple limpers where I make a good-sized pre-flop raise with the mighty 9 ♠ 2 ♦. Everyone folds except the loose guy on the button. If I'd known that he was as likely as he was to come along, I wouldn't have made the play, but I'd just joined the table, and the guys I recognized were nits and the guys I didn't recognize had the nit look. He was the only non-nit and probably the nit target, since I already knew that he was extremely loose aggressive post-flop. So...

Here comes a T 8 7 flop, two spades. Hey, I actually hit this flop with my open-ender. I make the C-bet, and this guy calls. I'd noticed in the few hands I'd observed that he likes to take control of a hand, so I sense that he might be on a draw rather than having completely zip, because if he had zip, he'd often make a large raise and try to take it down right away. Hmm. The turn 6 ♠ completes my straight, and I check, and he makes a good-sized bet, and I call. The screwplay would be the way to go if I thought he had a real hand worse than my hand, but my read is that he either has the flush and I'm dead, he has the same straight and we're wasting time, or he has the smaller straight, and I don't want to stop him from bluffing off his money. He's also capable of using a scary board to try to steal a pot, so, again, why try to stop him from bluffing off his cash? I figure that my best play is to call down. The river is whatever it is, something that isn't another spade and doesn't complete any bigger straights, and he bets $100. Since I still don't know if he has a flush or nothing at all, I decide not to check/raise. If he's bluffing, he can't pay off. Again, if he has a flush, I'm just putting more money into his pot. So I call, and we both show down 9s to split the pot. However, my deuce kicker is a little more creative than his Queen. Tee hee.

I make the mistake of playing questionable hands like QQ and AQ and get stacked a couple of times, but when I'm down to my last buy-in I'm willing to spend for the day, I got involved in a huge pre-flop multi-way pot where a TAG pro or semi-pro player opted to make a pot-sweetener raise with his pocket rockets, instead of just grabbing for what was in the pot, and everyone came along to see the flop, which was 9 ♥ 6 ♠ 7 ♠ -- not a bad flop for my 9 ♣ 8 ♣. I don't remember all the action, but everyone else dropped out, and pretty much the only hands I fear from this guy are A ♠ K ♠ or A ♠ Q ♠ because otherwise I've got soooooo many outs against his big overpair. At some point I get it all in, and he just barely covers me, and so I double up plus thanks to the multi-way action when the T ♣ falls.

Because I went so deep before I reeled in the big one, I'm too deep to feel comfortable playing with that many nits at the table. If I get all-in with most of these guys with a $1,200 stack, they're probably only playing the nuts. So I decide to cash out and head next door.

The Theme of the Day is a Set of Tens

2/5 at the W -- with a few minutes of bigtime 1/3 NL action

There were only three or four 2/5 games going at the W, so I sat down at 1/3 NL while I was on the waiting list. It wasn't long before I flopped a set of Tens on an A Q T board. The guy donks into me on this scary board, and while I'm pretty much pot-committed with my puny $200 buy-in with a set, I don't need to engage in a pissing match with his straight, so I just call. The turn is another Ace, and the guy bets again. At this point, I'm hoping and praying that he does have the straight, so I can get paid off. I go all in, and he does pay me off with much muttering under his breath and swearing into the guy who called him on the phone during the hand.

When I'm moved to the 2/5 game, I notice one calling station right away and a short time later pick up on the fact that there are actually two of them -- one of them willing to pay off medium bets and one of them willing to go all the way. I quickly establish my image as a loose player who makes a lot of bluffs and has to be paid off, by making two very, very cheap plays. I first make a squeeze out of the big blind with K ♠ 7 ♠ and C-bet both the flop and turn. The other guy won't go away, but I spike a King on the river to both take the pot and showdown my silly excuse for a "raising" hand.

A few minutes later, I hold 7 ♥ 6 ♥ on the button. I make a $25 raise after two limpers, and get three callers. They all check to me on a Q 8 8 flop and I make a C-bet on the assumption that it can be difficult to hit a paired flop, and one of the calling station guys now check/raises me. "You really think you're going to get a call?" I ask as I fold my hand face-up. Now they just know I'm a bluffing fool, tee hee.

So once again, a short while later, I pick up a set of Tens, this time on a J 9 T, two diamond board. Everyone else gets out of our way as the betting flies back and forth on the flop between me and the calling station guy who can pay off big. He recently lost a huge, huge hand (to somebody else) where he slow-played top two pair on a very similar board -- in fact, his holding was J9 -- so it's highly possible that now he's defending a decent hand against straight and flush draws, although it's never impossible that he already has the made straight. Whatever he has, it's possible for him to believe he's best, even if he doesn't hold a made straight or set. He really thinks I'm pretty crazy. The K ♦ comes on the turn, a terrible card for me, that completes a great many straights and flushes, but I've got nothing left behind except $206 in my stack, so I'm already pot-committed to this huge, huge pot. The river is the 8 ♣. I swear to Jeebus. Every draw out there is complete. What does the guy hold that I beat? I'll never know, but my guess is that he either held a set of Nines or the aforementioned J9. Anyway, I scoop a huge pot, and then it's time for dinner. The film-maker guy sitting next to me is shaking his head. "I'm going to write that hand down in my book," says he.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford