PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







a straight flush humor hand -- for the love of pete, don't try this at home

2009-03-09 - 5:20 p.m.

A good day yesterday, especially for me. Here's a blooper/humor hand for your entertainment value. Needless to say, I didn't play my other hands this horribly, or I probably wouldn't have had such healthy wins at both 15/30 and 30/60.

15/30 game with one mind-crogglingly bad player I've met before. I have T5 of hearts in the big blind. I forget the exact pre-flop action, but it's raised by somebody, and there are four people in the hand, so I'm getting 9 to 1 to call, plus the small blind money.

Flop: 7, 8, of hearts, 4 of whatever.

I check, check, check, a terrible LAGtard who is just bleeding chips bets because she always bets when checked to, button raises, I call, the other dude calls, she calls.

Turn: 6 of hearts.

Here's my stupid-ass play. Obviously I should just bet my flush here and hope to get a call from the LAGtard (who always calls because everybody is always bluffing) and anybody holding a high heart. Instead, for no known sane reason, I decide to go for the check-raise. Of course, as soon as I check, I'm kicking myself for my idiocy, but it's too late...ah well. Everybody checks, even the LAGtard. I guess nobody has anything. Sigh.

River: 9 of hearts.

That's right. I have BOTH of the possible straight flushes in my hand. Who the hell is going to call me now? I bet but I don't expect to get paid off, since nobody has made any move to suggest that they might have a big heart. The LAGtard does pay me off though, so I do get some value for my hand. The dealer cracked up laughing when I turned it over. He said that he expected me to have the T but he at least expected my opponent to have the 5. I just laughed. That opponent probably called down with K high -- oh, that isn't fair. She probably had a pair of 4s, right?

Anyhoo, how often do you get BOTH ends of the straight flush and still get paid off when nobody has the A high flush? Probably not too often...but that's why it's 15/30.

A player asked me yesterday which game I thought was better, 15/30 or 30/60. There's a theory floating around that you can earn about the same in either game, but obviously with less variance at 15/30. While I don't have so many hours at 15/30, I'm not finding this to be the case. I definitely win more at 30/60. Which is logical, of course, because if your expectation is to win say, a big bet an hour, then a big bet is twice as big at 30 than at 15.

However, there's another factor. I've been using 15/30 to warm up -- as I play less well earlier in the day or after a long break -- and I've also tried to be quick to get off tough 30/60 games. So I might be winning more at 30/60 because 1) I'm more mentally alert while playing this game, and 2) I'm choosing to stay seated for a prolonged period only when I spot some weakness. I certainly don't see myself failing to bet that turn in the hand above in a 30/60 game; I'd be thinking, OK, buddy, NO WAY you're getting a free card to hit your A high flush.

Click here to return to an index to my poker pages.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford