PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







highly suspicious walmart christmas cactus

2003-05-09 - 11:10a.m.

The kind-hearted diaryland diarist Ms. Leslie is giving away an old Chevy van, so BF and I plan to grab it tomorrow. It would be nice to have something that could take some abuse on our various expeditions. My poor Toyota Corolla station wagon has probably tolerated all the sand, salt, mud, and Roosevelt Beaches and South Farms (read cowflops) that it would care to.

I got emails this morning from my publisher and editor telling me that we're losing three more magazines. I just turned in some work for two of them that won't be used now. Sigh. The economy is dying the death by inches. I would hate to end up playing blackjack again. But we've been doing great at controlling our expenses and finding lots of bargains, so I don't see it happening in the near future, at least. Both of us traveling all the time was just too much.

My mind has been racing in a rather unpleasant manner for the last few days. I've been drinking a cup of tea every morning, which is really pushing it for me. I've got to go herbal again for awhile, even in the morning. I keep thinking, I've got to do this, I've got to do that, I've got to rush rush rush and take advantage of all this free time and birding opportunities before it's too late and I'm stuck in a job and/or all Americans are so hated that we're not welcome anywhere.

I suppose the cause of all this hand-wringing is that I left my trip to Israel too late, and it got cancelled because of all the unrest, and now I don't suppose it will be safe to visit in my lifetime. The birds are in Eilat, which is perfectly safe to this day, I'm sure, but unfortunately, I don't see how one could get around flying into either Jerusalem or Tel Aviv, where hardly a day goes by without someone strapping on a bomb and going out to blow up innocent bystanders.

I want my jetpack so I can bypass all the airports and population centers of the world.

Be that as it may, I need to pick out a vacation and book it and not get stressed about it. But all kinds of different ideas keep churning around in my head, and I can't decide.

An airline was giving away free trips to Toronto, an epicenter of the SARS scare. See Toronto and die. I don't think so. In any case, I didn't act quickly enough, and all the free flights were already snapped up. They need to give away free flights to a birding destination to pique Peachfront's interest.

The red Christmas cactus now look like this:

formerly red, now pink-tipped white christmas cactus
� 2003 by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved
So you see I am highly suspicious that my so-called red Christmas cactus was really a white one fed some sort of coloring. Is this like those celery sticks in grade school, where we gave them water with food coloring in it, and they drank it and turned all sorts of weird colors? Would my cactus turn red again if I fed it canthaxanthin?

We haven't had rain in I don't know when, so the air is extremely muggy. My poor camera fogged up when I first went outdoors, resulting in this photograph of pink humidity:

fogged up soft focus pink-tipped christmas cactus
� 2003 by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved
Some people might think that Peachfront does nothing but surf the net all day, but even as I type, I'm doing the laundry. Piles and piles of laundry. It's my favorite chore. I can feel that I'm very virtuous and getting all sorts of things accomplished, while the machines do all of the work.

Notable: The orange Trumpet Honeycreeper vines have started to bloom.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford