PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







2012, or i for one welcome our new satsuma overlords

2009-11-16 - 9:36 a.m.

Peachfront's Note: Check out my October 2009 Bolivia "Bird of Prey" trek: To start with Part 1, please click right here. If you missed any previous installments, well, here's Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, and the thrilling conclusion, Part 6. Or check out my bird trip list with over 50 new life species. Also don't forget to investigate my photo essay, the beautiful butterflies of Bolivia.

Yeah, so that's my refrigerator. Satsuma, satsuma, satsuma being made into citrus vodka, and more satsuma. And that's after 2 months plus of eating approximately 6 a day. Well, you can leave out the time I was in Bolivia, since I thought the satsumas wouldn't slide through MIA airport, but they did slide through DEN and LAS without anyone being the wiser...

I could take a second photo showing my freezer full of frozen juice and peel, and I might do it, or it might be overkill. It's easier to photo a fridge because a light goes on. The freezer is like this dark sinister space full of random glass bottles turned orange because they contain satsuma juice.

And, yeah, I did have to put the milk into slender imitation vanilla extract bottles because, well, because slender imitation vanilla extract bottles take up a lot less room than jugs of milk.

I wanted to see Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans. I have no idea if it only played that one night at the art house or if I missed it while I was in Bolivia, but somehow someway we couldn't find a place where it was playing and so instead we saw 2012. I don't think I've seen a movie since Sicko, and I'd never seen anything in the fancy new theater, with lots of views for short people and lots of space, but a Saints game was playing while we watched the movie, so there would have been lots of views and lots of space regardless. I already saw the preview, and so I warned DH it's really long and it is really long, but on the other hand, the star is the lovely and talented John Cusack, but yet again, the lovely and talented John Cusack is no longer an extraordinarily beautiful young man but instead an attractive, somewhat above average middle-aged man. Still a fine actor, but it wouldn't have mattered if they'd put a shitty actor in that role. And they wouldn't have put the lovely young Cusack in that role, but the middle-aged average Joe Cusack was fine. (They had a lovely and talented young Indian man in the role of the astrophysicist but despite his beauty --and that of his family-- he was definitely in the tradition of ethnic dude destined for heart-wrenching death.) Many years ago now I read how the director saw The Poseidon Adventure as a young boy and dreamed of making a movie "like that" and now he has -- an unneeded plot line about the destruction of a giant cruise ship just had to had to had to make it into the end of the world as we know it...

In order to save the film from the dreaded G rating, the director treated us to a shot of Woody Harrelson's less than appetizing middle-aged plumber's ass, so I'm just saying. Other than that, the proverbial entire family should be able to enjoy the film. I don't want to say "good clean fun" but c'mon. It's the end of the world as we know it and everyone still has nicely shampoo'd hair and laundered clothes as they sail away to their new home in South Africa. I hope some of these clowns have gold rather than euros in their pockets...no doubt it would be small and petty of me, but if I were a South African I'd be wanting to know just how many South Africans were invited to sail on those arks, because I sure as shinola didn't see that many. On the other hand, they've already absorbed over five million people who just beat feet and walked out of Zimbawbe, so what's a few hundred thousand more?


if you haven't visited my page of beautiful bolivian butterflies, what the heck are you waiting for?

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford