PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







i could sure go for a nice maytag bleu cheese souffle right about now

2009-11-17 - 10:10 a.m.

Peachfront's Note: Check out my October 2009 Bolivia "Bird of Prey" trek: To start with Part 1, please click right here. If you missed any previous installments, well, here's Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, and the thrilling conclusion, Part 6. Or check out my bird trip list with over 50 new life species. Also don't forget to investigate my photo essay, the beautiful butterflies of Bolivia.

Jeff Masters at Weather Underground has called the end of the 2009 Hurricane season. Thank You, Jeebus!

The Saints are 9-0. This might be more than Jeebus can do, this might be the Church of Satan. Any remaining voodoo chickens in New Orleans are feeling kinda nervous this time of century.

I just read an interview with Bradley Ogden:

What would you say your signature dish is? What defines you as a chef?

Let's just say that, like here at Caesars, (a signature dish) that I haven't been able to take off since day one, is my Maytag blue cheese souffl�e [sic]...

Pretty sure I wrote a diary entry somewhere in there called, Damn You Bradley Ogden about how he addicted me to the crack that is Maytag cheese. I'm glad I'm not alone...

I wrote about 2012 yesterday, and in the interest of fairness, I should mention that there were actually two stars. Yes, the lovely and talented John Cusack was the "everyman" out to save his family, and everyone who knows me probably thinks I'm a mouth-breather on the subject of John Cusack. He was the bait to get us horn-dog middle-aged ladies in the theater who otherwise never go to the movies. But there was also a scientist who was a lead character -- a talented black man I didn't recognize. I just looked it up and his name is Chiwetel Ejiofor. (Wowsers, that's a pretty tough name for Peachfront to remember.) I would put him in the "everyman" category as opposed to the "extraordinarily beautiful" young man category, but I don't think it hurts him at all. I think it actually give him more parts he can play, and I confidently expect to see more of him in the future.

And, yeah, I just read the story about the scandal movie poster for Vince Vaughn's Couples Retreat, where all four couples are shown in the U.S. poster, but for the U.K. poster, the black couple is "thoughtfully" omitted. Yikes. This isn't the kind of movie I would see, and I would have never guessed that "international" audiences prefer to see white actors. WTF? According to the story I just read on the subject at yahoo:

As noted in a 2007 New York Times article, American films with black stars typically struggle in the overseas market. According to the article, Will Smith, the undisputed king of the American box office, ranks no better than twelfth when it comes to ticket sales internationally. Simply put, said industry watcher James Ulmer, "The international marketplace is still fairly racist."

Honestly, I thought everybody loved Will Smith. Anyhoo, even though the stories aren't very deep, maybe the popularity of the Emmerich films will change some of the racism. He likes to use a rainbow and go all over the world. Hey, the visuals just work out better that way. You can watch and be entertained by films like Indy4 and 2012 even if you don't speak the language -- they're purely visual.

In my last entry, I made a sarcastic snark about how the South Africans might be surprised to find the arks landing at the Cape of Good Hope but it isn't because Emmerich is a racist or because he's shy to put black/brown people in the forefront of his stories. It's more because the world is so big, as much as you try to include everything -- and Emmerich tries to include everything, including let's crash a boat into Mount Everest (!) -- the world is too large and you can immediately think of all kinds of branches into well, this could happen or, well, that could happen.

As I watched the end of 2012 I could immediately imagine the South Africans saying, Ho-kay, you wanna emigrate to our fine country, what do you bring to the table because right now we're not real interested in all those euros...

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford