PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







part two of the farewell gambling tour: greektown, detroit

2011-11-01 - 10:10 p.m.

UPDATE 2017: My Macao & Hong Kong pictures are missing.

On day two of the Farewell Gambling Tour, I slept in until a reasonable hour, woke up, breakfasted on my leftover rainbow trout. Wonderful weather in New Orleans, so D. and I strolled in City Park for an hour, where I noticed a Black Swan snoozing between two of the regular Mute Swans. Back at the house, his mom informed us that there had been widespread massacre and mayhem on Halloween night, "two of the shootings right where we were standing!" as she darkly informed me. Well, hell, you have to admit that it isn't the norm for bad apples to start shooting up Bourbon Street with skaty-eight tourists and policemen on foot, on horses, and even in cars all over the place. M. feels that we had a lucky escape from death, but I hope we didn't use up quite all of our luck, tee hee.

Upgraded to first class MSY-DTW. Had a one day club pass that I used to hang out in the Sky Club, where I sipped a Pinot Grigio and a plate -- alright already, make it two plates -- of an excellent artichoke salad for lunch. Then it was on to Detroit. Preboard cocktail offered. I had Bailey's and I'm afraid as the official Bad Influence, I caused my seatmate to order the same. Another Bailey's, for both of us, inflight. No meal, just a couple of passes of the snack basket, but I think I've had quite enough between my rainbow trout, artichoke salad, and random Bischoff cookies, so it was just as well that they didn't trot out a meal this time.

Expensive cab drive to Greektown, yet not much more expensive than the shuttle. Wonderful view of downtown Detroit from my room. I'm looking at all the colorful buildings right now. The one with all the blue lights, maybe that's the GM building...

Greektown smells wonderful. Why did I eat so much? Will skip dinner and hope to have an appetite before I have to take off tomorrow.

Dude at the front desk gave me a $10 free play coupon and, in any event, it cannot be a Farewell Gambling Tour without some gambling, so I'd better head down and check it out.

later

Whoa. On a pleasant Tuesday evening in November, this place is PACKED. I never got a chance to redeem my $10 in free play because the line at the club is too long. Maybe I'll get a chance in the morning.

I played some craps but couldn't get anything going. There was one guy who was a decent shooter and he kept some chips in front of me. When it got to me, I rolled a 7 and then a 10. The very next number, I just know that it was going to be sixty-four, but the six flipped up and the other die popped off the table. Well, you know how that sad story ends. Seven out on the very next roll.

I lost $92 at craps in maybe an hour at dice and then played a bit more than another hour in the poker room. They had no big games, just 1/2 NL and 3/6 Limit, so I consider it pretty unbeatable. Unexceptional competition and mostly unexceptional hands. I never picked up any big cards. Made some blind steals. Won a real pot with 4 ♣ 5 ♣ when I hit bottom pair on the flop and improved to two pair on the turn. Won another pot when I held 4 ♠ 4 ♥ when I'm in the relative cut-off. Checks around on the flop. Ace falls on the turn. Checks to me, I bet pot. Folds around to the guy who acts immediately before me. He folds A ♥ face-up. Guess he didn't like his kicker. But I don't know how he puts me on Ace, Big Kicker with that action. I'll take the donation though. The table was starting to break up, and the rake is a little too stiff for a laggy style of play so I decided to call it night. I lost $43 at that game. The pair of fours was the best starter that I was dealt, so I was just running cold.

Went downstairs thinking to put my last $65 in play on one of the dice games but they were still packed. Club still had a huge line. Oh well. Hope I'll have time to get a little play in the morning.

For the moment, I'm sure glad I'm playing small recreational stakes, because I haven't beat a table yet. Today I lost $145, so the Farewell Gambling Tour is now down $163. Eek and egads.

Oh, and there are some hilarious characters in Detroit, but I will give the prize to the lady in the poker room who stood up and screamed at a guy who beat her, "You took all my money. You took my fifty dollars. You took fifty dollars from a LADY! Sir, I hope you're proud of yourself. You took a lady's last fifty dollars."

I didn't hear what the villain in question had to say, since this episode occurred at a different table, but at our table we were all laughing our asses off wondering what lady brings her last fifty dollars in the world to the poker table.

The thing that's whackadoo about it is that there were no other women playing dice at any of the four tables I saw and the crazy lady on her last fifty dollars may have been the only other woman I saw in the poker room. There are women gamblers at Greektown, don't get me wrong, but they appear to be slot addicts.

And, yah, that does mean that you're allowed to buy in for $50 at 1/2 at Greektown. Absolutely ridiculous. Who are they "protecting" with limits that mean that nobody can really win? The buy-in for 1/2 is $50-200. I'm not joking. A sad come-down from the game at IP/Biloxi where the minimum is $100 and the maximum is whatever you like. But apparently there's no real money in the poker economy any longer, so nobody's chasing opportunities.

Peachfront's Note: I've been on a travel kick lately. Don't forget to check out my recent adventures. You may want to read part one of the Farewell Gambling Tour, New Orleans.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford