PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







mean people still suck, if you don't want to help, just don't help, don't start in with the racist and anti-southern excuses for why you're not gonna help

2005-09-12 - 10:08 a.m.

They do have mail service again at the house, but I phoned them and got them to hold the mail until we can pick it up in person. Mail, water, landline, even some cell phone service. Now all we need is some electricity. Oh, and for there not to be a huge old hole in the house.

you can skip this part, it's the rant

Everyone in real life has been terrific. From the new bank waiving checking account fees to the postal employee finding a way to hold my mail without me sending in a form that might not get there for days, from the many co-workers and bosses who also have lost or damaged homes but are pulling together so we can get our lives back on track...it's been amazing. Not to mention a big shout-out to my dad for providing his house for us to stay in.

However, there has been a certain element of the internet that has been really, truly, impressively tacky. And if you're reading this, don't even pretend you don't know what I'm talking about. I'm not interested in hearing about how a Yankee who lost three whole buildings held it together. I don't care how you Yankees did it. The fact is, you had your homes to go back to, you had your city to go back to, you lost three damn buildings. Three.

We've lost multiple cities and towns, and the dead are still uncounted and the bodies still being found. We have a huge, ongoing disaster from a storm with energies several times the power of many thermonuclear weapons. We have an obstructionist federal government that sent our manpower and the money needed to secure our levees to Iraq.

And you know what? You look at the simulations, and you look at what really happened, and there is no comparison. 80 percent of New Orleans evacuated, a number I wouldn't have thought physically possible, as opposed to 60 percent. 10 or 20,000 likely dead, as opposed to the 60,000 predicted by the most recent simulation, "Hurricane Pam." With every obstacle in our path, in two of the poorest states of the nation, we've done pretty damn good.

And I really don't care if Giuliani's speeches were better after 9-11 than our state and local officials' speeches. Because you know what? We actually have a job to do. It ain't about speeches. If Giuliani ever did anything real, such as hello leading an effort to get international law enforcement to actually arrest Osama bin Laden and bring him and the other financiers of 9-11 to trial, I sure would like to know about it, because as far as I know, the bin Ladens are still running free and rolling in more money than ever. So don't tell me about corrupt, ineffective officials. Seems like you guys have set the bar pretty high in that regard.

tarp on house
� 2003 by Elaine Radford

yeah, this is still tropical storm bill damage, we'll have the katrina pictures maybe even as soon as later today

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford