PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







coastal maine trip: the checked bag

2008-06-06 - 1:49 p.m.

I've been editing this darn bag all morning, and here, barring any last minute changes, are the final contents:

  • A "Box Star" box of Chardonnay -- It may be good, it may be bad, I don't know, but I also don't know if Maine is one of those Yankee states that is hysterical about alcohol and makes you search out special stores to buy beer and wine, and I don't feel like playing hide and seek on my vacation, plus I just read (this can't be true, can it?) that the best selling adult beverage in Maine is some kind of locally produced coffee brandy, which, let's it admit right now, does not inspire confidence, if that makes me a snob and a terrible person, especially after yesterday's post, yeah so be it, we can't all be Boy Scouts
  • A portable "Little Igloo" cooler -- because I'm sick of buying and throwing away styrofoam coolers, which we would otherwise have to do
  • Current contents of the cooler:
    • 1 microfiber towel
    • 4 small boxes of raisins
    • a small microwavable container for melting butter which currently holds:
      • 4 small packets of "Power Bar" electrolyte mix
      • a chicken flavored salt packet left over from a Ramen noodle soup
      • a sample packet of Ms. Dash "Grilling Blend" -- the idea is that I don't feel like buying and especially not toting around entire salt and pepper containers so here's some quick seasoning on the run should we need it
      • 3 packets of Emergenc-C
    • 4 tinned sardines
    • 2 each of plastic fork, knife, spoon
    • 2 little utensils for getting crab meat or (one hopes!) lobster meat out of claws
    • 2 metal teaspoons
    • 1 utensil that is a can opener, wine bottle opener, bottle cap remover
    • a HUGE 16 ounce bottle of No-AD SPF 60 sunscreen -- what else do you take when there's boating involved?
    • a bottle of saccharine tablets
    • 4 packets of Flavor Aid lemonade and grape drink mix
    • a grip for opening lids or washing clothes in sinks that might otherwise have leaky stoppers -- a surprising number of motels do
    • 5 cans of Vienna Sausage in various flavors -- it can't be lobster morning, noon, and night, even if you're going low carb
    • a Vermont Bag Balm tinned filled with 20 bags of French Vanilla flavored tea
  • Note: The contents of the cooler are in a plastic grocery bag so that when we actually want to use the cooler as, you know, a cooler, we can just pull the groceries out, and there you go
  • toothbrush
  • small plastic make-up bag that holds:
    • razor
    • magnifying mirror
    • mini sewing kit
    • tweezers
    • scissors
    • 2 hair ties
    • spare reading glasses
  • Black and white flowered flip-flops
  • Black and white patterned summer dress to match flip-flops
  • 2 piece swimsuit with scarf-like cover-up
  • gray cotton shorts and Veracruz shirt for sleep set -- because experience has taught me that a Mexican T-shirt is better worn some distance away from the actual Mexican border
  • 2 sport bras
  • 4 prs socks
  • 4 pairs underpants
  • 1 pr jeans
  • 3 shirts -- yeah, there will be laundry, I'm bringing coins in my carry-on
  • 12 spare AA batteries
The total weight of the bag is a skinch under 30 pounds, which is where it needs to be since there are B&Bs and stairs involved. Nonetheless, it's packed to the point of exploding in all directions, and I pity the screener who has to investigate my bag. I did put the batteries right out on top, in case of a Mad-Air type incident.

Also, I have no room for the nifty thermal plastic coffee mugs. I'll have to sneak them into DH's luggage.

I've already got two of my First Class upgrades. Yay, me! The plane to Portland is quite empty, with only 3 of us up-front, even though it's a CRJ900 "puddle jumper" with only 12 FC seats. I'm going to ask for a companion upgrade there, if there's any time. Sometimes they say it isn't allowed on award tickets, but the worst they can do is say no. It isn't really very FC anyway, because there is no elbow room. I just remembered to hurry over to nwa.com and swap my seat from 4C to 4A so that there's no one sitting beside me.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford